Sport Waitakere Excellence Awards

The Trusts Sport Waitakere Excellence Awards 2016

 This year saw the majority of the previous sponsors return to support the awards. In early July, The Trusts resigned as the naming rights sponsor for the event. Returning sponsors include Fosters Signs , Sentra Printing, West City Holden, Lion Breweries, Create Video, Harcourts Blue Fern Realty, Douglas Pharmaceuticals and Unitec.

In addition to the returning sponsors we have managed to source a number of new sponsors. This is largely due to the new venue in which we were able to partner with businesses who were able to provide us either funds or goods and services to enhance the awards dinner. Eventfinda, Carlton Party Hire, Showlight and Power, SkyCity – The Kitchen, The Warehouse, Fulton Hogan, AvantiPlus Westgate, Pacific Linen

This year there were 277 tickets for the event. The Te Atatu Peninsula Community Center was the new venue for this year and was able to host our guests comfortably. The atmosphere of the night was very welcoming and all of the feedback so far has been very positive. Members of the community were impressed with the use of the community center as the venue with lots of them noting that they did not know that the facility was there. 

Highlights of the night included

·       Live Auction items for Sporting Chance raising over $2,500.00

·       Take 2 band playing throughout dinner

·       Photo Board provided by Fosters Signs

·       Photo Booth

·       Dinner and Dessert

·       Lighting, Multimedia and MC

·       Centerpiece items provided by The Warehouse

  2016 Winners


Lorna Manu – Netball

Stephen Fletcher – Football

Neree Wright – Diving

Nikolai Gordon – Surf Life Saving

Suzanne Strangward – Roller Sport

Gary Donovan – Rugby

FULTON HOGAN Sport Volunteer of the Year – WINNER – Paul Misslebrook, Special Olympics West Auckland

FOSTERS SIGNS Administrator of the Year – WINNER – Deb Collis, Auckland Waitakere Roller Sports

UNITEC Youth Leadership in Sport Award – WINNER - Shanae Jansen, Rutherford College

HARCOURTS BLUE FERN REALTY Secondary School Team of the Year – WINNER – Kelston Girls College Waka Ama

THE WAREHOUSE Secondary School Sportsperson of the Year – WINNER – Grace Lui, Kelston Girls College.

AVANTIPLUS WESTGATE Junior Sportswoman of the Year – WINNER – Gabrielle Fa’amausili, Avondale College.

WESTCITY HOLDEN Junior Sportsman of the Year – WINNER – Byron Chivers, Oliver MMA.

Pacific Island Achievement Award – WINNER – Gabrielle Fa’amausili.

Maori Achievement Award – WINNER – Byron Chivers, Oliver MMA

DOUGLAS PHARMACEUTICALS Coach of the Year – WINNER – Tua Raroa, Western Magpies Softball

SENTRA PRINTING Club of the Year – WINNER – Bethells Beach Surf Life Saving

CREATE VIDEO Team of the Year – WINNER – Suburbs Rugby Premier Men

EVENTFINDA Sportswoman of the Year – WINNER – Amber Hearn and Erin Nayler, NZ Football Ferns

STEINLARGER Sportsman of the Year – WINNER – Mahe Drysdale

SPORT WAITAKERE Legacy Award – Sir Graeme Douglas

THE TRUSTS Supreme Award – WINNER – Mahe Drysdale

We a number of sponsorship opportunities available for this project. For further information please contact our Marketing and Events coordinator Narissa for a proposal - E: